D3 and mvBase

View Only
  • 1.  D3/Linux 10.3 Auto Start on Reboot

PARTNER
    Posted 10-21-2022 04:32
    Morning All (South African Time!),

I seem to remember Rocket provides an easy way to load the necessary services to enable auto start on reboot - I have limited desire & knowledge to get on First Name terms with systemctl :)

I did look through the Installation Guide but didn't find anything there.

Any bright ideas appreciated or even pointing me to the documentation I may have missed.

Cheers
    Tom

------------------------------
    Tom Power
    Owner
    Power Business Systems
    Benoni ZA

• 2.  RE: D3/Linux 10.3 Auto Start on Reboot

ROCKETEER
    Posted 10-21-2022 18:36
    Try the D3 Linux Admin Guide:

https://www3.rocketsoftware.com/rocketd3/support/documentation/d3linux/103/admin/index.htm

The "Runnning D3 as a Service" topic is in the Apendix.

Running D3 as a Service

As of D3 10.2, D3 can be set to automatically start and stop when your system is started or stopped.

This feature is not installed by default. To install this feature, execute:

systemctl enable d3_pick0

Depending on your current system configuration, you may be required to update some variables in the d3shutdown script to enable this feature. The d3shutdown script is located in the /usr/lib/pick/ directory. Review the table below to determine whether you will be required to add or update any of the d3shutdown script variables. See the d3tcl Command (UNIX) topic in the D3 Reference Manual for more information on these variables.

Variable Description
    PICKVM By default, this feature works with the pick0 virtual machine. However, if you have renamed the virtual machine, you must update the PICKVM variable with the new name.
    PICKUSER If you want to log on as a user other than the dm user, you must add the PICKUSER variable with the new user name. Note that this is not required if you are running D3 with the Host Authentication feature enabled.