Original Message:
Sent: 06-02-2023 09:40
From: Dave Jousma
Subject: Anyone Running RTE in z/OS zCX container?
Thank-you Limei,
Your pointers helped a lot. I did create a volume, and started new container with:
docker run -d -p 8543:8543 --volume bluezone_data:/home/rte/bzwapps --name bluezone --restart unless-stopped bluezone:10.1.5
One other question if you do not mind, but in reading the RTE administrator guide when doing upgrades, i see references for copying the ./deploy folder to ./migrate, and then upgrade. How would this be accomplished in a docker environment?
------------------------------
Dave Jousma
Principal Systems Programmer
Fifth Third Bank, N.A.
Grand Rapids MI US
Original Message:
Sent: 06-01-2023 22:48
From: Limei Wu
Subject: Anyone Running RTE in z/OS zCX container?
Hi Dave, when you shutdown the zCX container, the application inside it will not be shutdown but cannot access too. When you start the container again, you can access the application inside it again. If you just shutdown/stop the container and then start it again, the data should not be lost. How do you shutdown and start the container?
docker stop xx
docker start xx
If you use the docker run command to start the container, it will create a new container and then start it. The data will be lost since it is a new container. To keep the data, you need to mount the data out, for example docker run -p 8543:8543 -v /home/rte/bzwapps/: /opt/bzwapps --name container-name image-name. I believe there are several persistence storage solution for container data, like using volume .etc.
------------------------------
Limei Wu
Rocket Internal - All Brands
Dalian CN
Original Message:
Sent: 06-01-2023 08:16
From: Dave Jousma
Subject: Anyone Running RTE in z/OS zCX container?
Limei,
If you dont mind, another question. When a ZCX instance is shutdown, do the containers running inside it come down nicely? Is there a method to have the RTE shutdown.sh script run automatically at shutdown? I shutdown ZCX container, and restarted, and it seems as though data was lost or corrupted, because I can no longer logon to the RTE instance, and am having to start over it seems?
In the same thought, is there an automated method to start the container as well?
Thanks in advance.
------------------------------
Dave Jousma
Principal Systems Programmer
Fifth Third Bank, N.A.
Grand Rapids MI US
Original Message:
Sent: 05-31-2023 09:12
From: Limei Wu
Subject: Anyone Running RTE in z/OS zCX container?
Dave, great to hear that you have figure this out.
------------------------------
Limei Wu
Rocket Internal - All Brands
Dalian CN
Original Message:
Sent: 05-31-2023 07:37
From: Dave Jousma
Subject: Anyone Running RTE in z/OS zCX container?
Limei,
thanks for the clarification on which version of code to use. I found my problems. First, I will say that zCX is new territory for me, so learning as I go. When i installed the required node.js, I did a docker import of the .tar file, instead of a docker load. Once I got past that, the docker build worked successfully. The second hurdle where I couldnt connect to the RTE server, was because I did not start the container with the -p option to publish the port. Once I did that I am able to connect.
Thanks again!
Dave
------------------------------
Dave Jousma
Principal Systems Programmer
Fifth Third Bank, N.A.
Grand Rapids MI US
Original Message:
Sent: 05-30-2023 22:23
From: Limei Wu
Subject: Anyone Running RTE in z/OS zCX container?
Hi Dave, you are correct. zCX container use the .tar version. RTE Web deployment in zCX works for me. It seems the working directory is incorrect. Please check if this path is correct: WORKDIR /home/rte/bzwapps/bin.
WORKDIR /home/rte/bzwapps/bzwapps/bin?
Thanks,
Limei
------------------------------
Limei Wu
Rocket Internal - All Brands
Dalian CN
Original Message:
Sent: 05-30-2023 09:49
From: Dave Jousma
Subject: Anyone Running RTE in z/OS zCX container?
Hi,
I am hoping someone on here has played with RTE using z/OS zCX containers. I currently have RTE WE 10.1.5.0065 running successfully under z/OS V2.5 in USS with IBM supplied NODE.JS version 18.14.2.
My question is about running RTE in a z/OS ZCX container as documented in the administrators guide. For the zCX container, I have s390x/node.js V20 docker image downloaded s390x/node - Docker Image | Docker Hub here. However, what is not clear in the admin guide is whether or not I need to use the extracted download image for z/OS USS which is the larger .pax file on your website, or do I use the extracted .tar file instead?
I think the Linux .tar download is what I need, and have been using to create the docker image.
I actually had the docker build run successfully with the .tar version, but had issues because the first s390x/node.js package was the "slim" version, which i hadnt noticed, and doesnt contain everything needed. RTE startup had errors, and i couldnt connect to it, so I assumed it was the wrong version of node.js. Once I downloaded the full version, and imported that, is when the problems below started.
I ask because the docker build is failing with:
dockerfile:
FROM s390x/node:latest
# Create app directory
RUN mkdir -p /home/rte
# Bundle app source
COPY ./bzwapps /home/rte/bzwapps
# Expose the HTTP port
EXPOSE 8543
# Start the application
WORKDIR /home/rte/bzwapps/bin
CMD [ "sh", "nodeServer-docker.sh" ]
Fails with
admin@ctsatest:/tmp/RocketRTEinstall$ docker build . -t bluezone:latest
Sending build context to Docker daemon 369.2MB
Step 1/6 : FROM s390x/node:latest
---> 9350c47e2c80
Step 2/6 : RUN mkdir -p /home/rte
---> Running in 22e5e482b372
failed to create shim: OCI runtime create failed: runc create failed: unable to start container process: exec: "/bin/sh": stat /bin/sh: no such file or directory: unknown
------------------------------
Dave Jousma
Principal Systems Programmer
Fifth Third Bank, N.A.
Grand Rapids MI US
------------------------------