Open-source Languages & Tools for z/OS

View Only
  • 1.  Experience with sparse-checkout on z/OS?

Posted 08-25-2020 06:26
    Does anybody have experience with using sparse-checkout in conjunction with git for z/OS?
    I am trying to use it, but I am encountering some apparent inconsistencies with other platforms.
    However, I have no real experience using sparse-checkout on any platform, so I would like to get help from someone who does.

Thank you in advance
    Cris

• 2.  RE: Experience with sparse-checkout on z/OS?

ROCKETEER
    Posted 08-25-2020 11:20
    Hello Cris,

What differences do you see between platforms? It might help others explain what you are seeing.

Cheers,
    Ray

------------------------------
    M. Ray Mullins
    Rocket Software

• 3.  RE: Experience with sparse-checkout on z/OS?

Posted 08-26-2020 07:06

Hi Ray, thank you for your reply.

I have just completed rebuilding my working tree on linux, and I discovered that there is actually no difference among platforms.
    There had to be some difference in the way I initially set up my working tree on linux.

Anyway, I still need help on sparse-checkout (being it on z/OS or anywhere else).
    Here's the problem: I have configured my working tree to use shallow clone and the sparse-checkout feature.
    Working tree is initialized, connected to remote repo (git remote add origin [amended url]) and the local repo is populated with git fetch --depth=1 (shallow clone).
    Initially (first pull) everything works well. I have only one file in a subdirectory of my working tree, the one that I inserted in .git/info/sparse-checkout.

Now I want to add more files from the remote repo.
    I have added the paths of those files in the .git/info/sparse-checkout file, but if I run "git pull origin master" again, I get this:

[AMENDED]@BVLSYSB [~/[amended].hna.source]$ git pull origin master
    From [amended]
    * branch master -> FETCH_HEAD
    Already up-to-date.