The vsql command-line linux utility seems to secretly commit some statements at end of session, but not all statements. CREATE TABLE and DROP TABLE seem to get committed (if you quit vsql and then start a new session, you see your previous changes), but INSERT and DELETE do not.
Is there documentation on what gets secretly committed and what doesn't? Does it depend only on the statement issued, or also what other transactions are in progress?